Posts

Showing posts from November, 2015

Press Release: James L Rubart

Seattle: What if you met your 23-year-old self in a dream? What would you say? No matter how young or how old, there’s a part of us all that wishes we could go back and tell ourselves what we should have done differently. It’s a desire award-winning author James L. Rubart explores in his new novel, The Five Times I Met Myself (Thomas Nelson/November 10, 2015/ISBN: 978-1401686116/$15.99).

 Rubart’s strength of teaching life lessons within the context of story shines in this new release that will appeal to fans of Andy Andrews and Mitch Albom. The author introduces readers to Brock Matthews, whose once-promising life is now unraveling. There is tension in nearly every one of his relationships, and with his son soon leaving for college he’s forced to confront the gaping gulf that lies between him and his wife. His successful company, where he’s found so much of his sense of identity and fulfillment, is suddenly on the rocks. He’s at a loss for how to deal with the pressures he’s facing,…

Litfuse Interview: Rachel Hauck

In a day when marriage seems disposable, best-selling author Rachel Hauck weaves a story that reminds us of love’s timeless truths.

Hauck’s The Wedding Chapel (Zondervan/November 17, 2015/ISBN: 978- 0310341529/$15.99), a slip time story set in the late 1940s/early 1950s, captures the romance and hope of a post-war South while the contemporary timeline wrestles with the challenges and complications of commitment in the modern world.

 Q: What inspired the plotline of The Wedding Chapel?

This book came from the old saying, “Desperate times call for desperate measures.” I needed a new story idea, and while on vacation in Tennessee I drove past a wedding chapel called Chapel in the Glen. I pitched the title to my publisher a few minutes later. She and the team loved it. And I was off to find a story to go with it.

Q: Why did you choose to marry a classic love story from the 1940s with a modern tale of romance gone off-course?

 I like to look at all aspects of life in a novel. Maybe it’s hi…

Julie Klassen’s ‘The Painter’s Daughter’ Coloring Contest

Image
Grab your colored pencils because Julie Klassen is hosting a coloring contest! Stop by the contest page to download and print The Painter's Daughter coloring page and channel your inner artist. One master colorist will receive a signed copy of The Painter’s Daughter, two grown-up coloring books (Enchanting English Garden and Live Loved), and a set of 24 Prismacolor colored pencils.

Scan and email your entry to Amy Green with the subject line “The Painter’s Daughter Coloring Contest” to enter the first round of judging by December 8. Then stop by Julie's Facebook page beginning December 10 to vote for your favorite (and tell your friends to vote, too)! The winner will be announced at Julie's Facebook event on December 15 at 7 p.m. CST. Ready? Set. Color!

Giveaway: Pieces on Earth ebook

Image
I would like to welcome author Cathy Bryant to New Horizon Reviews, today. Cathy is an Amazon best-selling author and she loves to write heart-stirring stories of God's life-changing grace. Please be sure to enter her giveaway.

 `Pieces On Earth` (book blurb): As the wife of a naval aviator in sunny Florida, Liv Tulley eagerly anticipates the first Christmas in several years with her husband, daughter, and extended family. Then her husband is unexpectedly deployed for an undetermined amount of time, smashing her white Christmas dreams to pieces, even as she harbors a secret and battles fear. Can she find God's peace in the midst of life's pieces?

Giveaway: Pieces On Earth ebook, ends 12/4/15.


Author Bio:



Amazon best-selling author Cathy Bryant loves to write heart-stirring stories of God's life-changing grace and has done so through six Miller's Creek novels, two Bible studies, one Christmas novella, and two devotional books written in collaboration with othe…

Author Interview: Cathy Bryant

Image
I would like to welcome author Cathy Bryant to New Horizon Reviews, today. Cathy is an Amazon best-selling author and she loves to write heart-stirring stories of God's life-changing grace.

`Pieces On Earth` (book blurb): As the wife of a naval aviator in sunny Florida, Liv Tulley eagerly anticipates the first Christmas in several years with her husband, daughter, and extended family. Then her husband is unexpectedly deployed for an undetermined amount of time, smashing her white Christmas dreams to pieces, even as she harbors a secret and battles fear. Can she find God's peace in the midst of life's pieces?


Author Bio:
Amazon best-selling author Cathy Bryant loves to write heart-stirring stories of God's life-changing grace and has done so through six Miller's Creek novels, two Bible studies, one Christmas novella, and two devotional books written in collaboration with other Christian authors. She's also written for The Upper Room devotional magazine…

OAClub News

Image
What’s on your children’s Christmas wish list? As excited as they might be about that new toy, as every parent knows, the thrill of the gift will eventually wear off. Focus on the Family and Adventures in Odyssey have created the perfect gift for those who want to give their children or grandchildren a present that will provide year-round fun with eternal impact.

The Odyssey Adventure Club (OAC) offers families 24/7 access to 25 years’ worth of Adventures in Odyssey (AIO) episodes in a safe online environment where children can explore and learn. Christmas really is the perfect time to tap into your children’s imagination while infusing faith and fun into their day . . . and every day of the year.

To celebrate the holidays this year, the OAC is offering free content for everyone, including an Advent calendar, a broadcast download with tips to create a memorable Christmas, AIO cutouts and Christmas stocking stuffer cards. Membership to the OAC costs just $9.99 a month — or even less…

Review: In Good Company

Image
`In Good Company`(Jen Turano) is set in the 1800's.  I would have picked this novel just for the cover itself. It looks fun and inviting! The novel had me hooked from the first chapter. When Miss Millie Longfellow and Mrs. Cutling had a spat over childcare. I think the best part of this novel is the children's antics.
`In Good Company` is the continuing saga of `After A Fashion`. So the reader would be amiss if they didn't read `After A Fashion` first. I would suggest keeping a dictionary close by for the words the reader may not recognize, there are several. However, the new words do not take away from the storyline.
             I would recommend this novel to readers who like historical fiction and/or children. I give this novel 5*, especially for the children.

**I won this novel from author Jen Turano. Thanks Jen!

Author Bio:


Jen Turano is the best-selling, critically acclaimed author of The Ladies of Distinction series, and A Classof Their Own series, published through …

Top 10 Quotes I loved from Books

Image
Top Ten Tuesday is inspired by The Broke and The Bookish.
Question: Top 10 "Quotes" I loved from Books
(1) She's a few peas short of a casserole  (Barbara Johnson)
(2) His antenna doesn't pick up all the channels  (Barbara Johnson)
(3) Would I long to rub his back...just one more time (Darlene Schacht)
(4) Every holiday became an opportunity to convene friends and family. (Margaret Feinberg)
(5) The natural instinct is to ask for what we most deeply desire (Yolanda Adams) 
(6) Another way to receive comfort is through our tears (Pamela Havey Lau)
(7) Our ability to serve those around us depends largely on why we're doing the serving. (Pamela Havey Lau)
(8) I chose instead to remember he`d been faithful in the past and chose to assume he would be again. (Cynthia Ruchti)
(9) When a soul is tattered, shredded, we understand how the word soul encompasses our whole being  (Cynthia Ruchti)
(10) I can still picture Dorothy`s face when she and her friends realized that …

The 5 Times I Met Myself

An interview with James L. Rubart
 Author of The Five Times I Met Myself
 What if you met your 23-year-old self in a dream? What would you say? No matter how young or how old, there’s a part of us all that wishes we could go back and tell ourselves what we should have done differently. It’s a desire award-winning author James L. Rubart explores in his new novel, The Five Times I Met Myself (Thomas Nelson/November 10, 2015/ISBN: 978-1401686116/$15.99). 
Q: The Five Times I Met Myself explores the main character’s desire to go back in time and change certain decisions. Was the idea behind the book driven by any of your own regrets? 
Actually, no. While my novel Memory’s Door was definitely driven by my own regrets — and having to figure out how to deal with them — The Five Times I Met Myself was more driven by hope for the future. I don’t think it’s ever too late to start living with freedom. I don’t think there’s any brokenness God can’t breathe healing and life into. So while my main …

Review: After A Fashion.

Image
'After A Fashion' (Jen Turano) is a historical fiction novel dated in the 1800's. The female protagonist, Miss Harriet Peabody, is a milliner. The male protagonist, Mr. Oliver Addleshaw, is a wealthy businessman. I think the author's stand is that the rich and poor can intermingle.

         Although this novel is interesting, the writer's style was hard for me to follow. However, everything seems to come together near the end. 'After A Fashion' is followed by another novel in the series, 'In Good Company'.

'After A Fashion' has some comical situations as well as some unexpected twists. I found the description of Miss Harriet's hat to be amusing. Although the cover shows a beautiful lady with a beautiful hat.

          I give this book 4* and would recommend it to readers who like historical fiction.

 Question: What era of history would you most like to live in?

 I won this book from author Jen Turano. Thanks, Jen!

My apologies: author Jen …